Skip to main content
search iconcross icon


The anaesthetics department provides care for emergency and elective patients who will be having some form of surgery, are in labour, are in the intensive care unit or are in the accident and emergency department.

The department also provides care to patients who require acute or chronic pain relief or to psychiatric patients requiring electro convulsive therapy.


The anaesthetics department runs specialised pain clinics at both sites to provide chronic pain treatment and relief.

Dedicated pre-operative assessment service run at CRH, HRI, Acre Mill and Todmorden Health Care. Details here.

Where to find us

The anaesthetics departments are located next to the main surgical theatres, at both the Calderdale Royal Hospital and Huddersfield Royal Infirmary.

Who to contact to find out more

Calderdale Royal Hospital

Anaesthetic Office - Jean Ginley
Tel 01422 224077

Huddersfield Royal Infirmary

Anaesthetic Office - Rebecca Johnstone
Tel 01484 347232

Meet the team

The anaesthetic service across both sites is run by 38 consultant anaesthetists, 21 speciality doctors, associate specialist anaesthetists, specialist registrars and junior doctors.



Special interests

Dr Joseph Anathhanam


Dr Peter Bamber

IT Lead

Dr Ritu Banerjee

Pre-operative assessment Lead

Dr Karen Bartholomew

Paediatrics Lead (Joint)

Dr Marcus Beadle


Dr Nisha Bhuskute


Dr Pravin Dandegaonkar

Chronic Pain lead

Dr Peter Hutchings




Dr John Esmond

ICU, Trauma lead

Dr Briganand Ghoorun

ICU, Paediatrics

Dr Peter Hall

ICU lead HRI

Dr Stephen Hill

Royal Colleage of Anaesthesia Tutor

DR P T Hutchings

Clinical Director: Anaesthesia and Operating Services      

Dr Tim Jackson




Dr Martin Jones

Equipment lead

Dr Ramanathan Kandasamy

Clinical Director for Anaesthesia, Pain Services, Critical Care & Operating Services, ICU 

Dr Nik Karandikar

ICU, Vascular anaesthesia

Dr Ross Kitson

Clinical Director: Critical Care, Pain, CVAD and Outreach

Dr Paul Knight

Organ donation lead

Dr Pnt Laloë

CPET Lead (joint); Clinical Director of Head and Neck Services; Chair Hospital Transfusion Committee

Dr Piers Lesser

Chronic pain

Dr Chi Lok


Dr Monika Stankiewicz-Malawska

Acute Pain Lead

Dr Amy Mayor 

Trauma & Orthopaedics Lead; Regional Anaesthesia Lead; Research Lead

Dr Rajesh Menon

Medicine Lead

Dr Michael Moncreiff

Paediatrics Lead (Joint)

Dr Claire Morrison


Dr Mike Munro

Dr Vijay Nadella

Rota Lead

Dr Julie O'Riordan

Divisional Director FFS

Dr Jez Pinnell 

CPET¹ Lead (Joint)

Dr Raju Puttaswamy

Obstetric Anaesthesia Lead

Dr Shaheed Rahman

Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine Tutor

Dr Danny Smith 

Fluid Therapy Lead 


Dr Sue Wilkinson


Clinical Governance & Audit Lead                          

Dr Matt Williams 

Dr Gemma Woodward


Dr Agnieska Wozniak

Central Venous Access Device
Cardio-Pulmonary Exercise Testing

Associate Specialists:
Dr Peter Alderson
Dr S Raizada

Specialty Doctors:

Dr Emma Corbett

Dr Allen George

Dr B Janardhana

Dr Jithu Jayan

Dr Anu Joglekar

Dr V Jambunathan

Dr Marcin Jozefowicz

Dr Ravi Koppula

Dr Rob McLean

Dr M 'Gosia'  Mekwinska

Dr Mohammed Naji

Dr Amit Pruthi

Dr Marc Rocheteau

Dr Wisam Sarhan

Dr A Venkat